Yogurt with frozen milk? and more...

Discussion in 'Cheese & Dairy' started by Wild4goats, Sep 25, 2015.

1. Wild4goats

Wild4goats New Member

I asked this question within a very old thread, so decided to start new. I am new to dairy goats and right now have only one of my girls in milk. I have been saving her milk by filtering straight into jars and to the freezer. I now have plenty to start making yogurt. But wondering about the frozen milk. My questions are: What is the best method for thawing frozen milk? If I boil for thicker yogurt does it effect nutritional value? What is "hanging" yogurt and how do I do it? Lastly I just read you can keep and use clabbered milk for lots of things you would have used buttermilk for etc. So does the sour milk ever go bad to the point you should not use it? If yes, how do you know?
    Thank you! Sorry for the long post.

2. jdavenport

jdavenport Member

Thaw the milk in the fridge, boiling the milk would change the taste, regular pasteurizing temperature is fine, Hang your finished yogurt in thick cheesecloth bag to make yogurt cheese (super yummy), and you should really make fresh cultures from a known source, until you have a really good idea of what you're doing. You wouldn't want to make everyone sick because you didn't realize your culture got away from you.

3. Wild4goats

Wild4goats New Member

Jdavenport - thank you for the response. I am assuming when you say "you should really make fresh cultures from a known source" you are referring to the starter? I have been reading and getting different input from both internet sources and friends who raise dairy and I went with a commercial plain yogurt called Mountain high for my starter.