What to feed the boys.

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Madeleine M., Jul 12, 2008.

1. Madeleine M.

Madeleine M. New Member

As this is my first year having boys, I wanted to see if you'll could tell me what you feed your bucks and wethers. I have a young ND Buck and Nubian whether.

2. Little Moon

Little Moon New Member

I feed mine Boer Goat Feed that has amonium chloride mixed right in. I can't remember the actual name but it is made by ACCU feeds (cargill) - meat maker maybe??

Anne

3. coso

coso Guest

I also feed about a pound and a 1/4 of a meat goat pellet with ammonium chloride, with free choice orchardgrass/alfalfa hay. They have browse also. They probably don't need the pellets but I'm paranoid about getting UC.

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Are you close enough to go up to Producers in Bryan and purchase the meat goat pellet with rumensin? That is what I would feed.

Do you have a Pilgrims dealer near you? Pilgrims meat goat pellet is what I use....you can also up the protein and get the show goat if you want, fish meal is what is used to up the protein so I use the plain meat goat. It's an alfalfa pellet based pellet. Vicki

5. Sondra

Sondra New Member

I feed mine alfalfa pellets only and grass hay unless in rutt.

6. R and R Farms

R and R Farms New Member

Just curious if the growing boys have more of a need for the protein (and whatever else may be in the bagged feed) than a grown buck on a maintenance diet. Also, if so, at what age should they be switched over to maintenance?.......Mike

7. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member