what do copper deficient goats look like?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by prairiegirl01, Jul 22, 2008.

1. prairiegirl01

prairiegirl01 New Member

Hi all,

I've been reading around the website and came across an older post that mentioned that goats who are deficient in copper have eye rings and rough coats. Is this right? If so, does anyone have a picture I could see? I'd like to know what it looks like. What are the other signs, if any?

Do people have a favorite brand/size of copper bolus? How does one get it down their throats? Favorite tool? Fingers? Can goats get copper posioning if they have access to a good mineral AND they are bolused?

Thanks for help with this--I'm new to this.

Chris

2. I don't have any pictures but I can tell you they lose their color, their hair becomes porcupiny, sometimes they lose patches or all their hair. Mine did not get rings around their eyes that I know of, but the alpines hooves definately started braking down. They look much better now that they are getting more copper. Tammy

3. sunnygrl_ks

sunnygrl_ks Guest

i also don't have any pictures... but the very first goats we bought were 3 nigerians ... they were stark white. After 2 rounds of copper they actually turned out to be white and tan painted.

4. prairiegirl01

prairiegirl01 New Member

I may have answered some of my own questions. I looked on the Saanendoah website (here's the link for others http://www.saanendoah.com/copper1.html ) and got an earful (eyeful?) AND pictures. But, I'm wondering how best to break the boluses down into the right size and then administer them. Is there a bolus gun?

Thanks!

Chris

5. There are several threads under Goatkeeping 101 on Copper. You might check those out also. I'm sure you can pick up a bolus gun at a feed store or you can order them through Jeffers, Caprine supply, Hoeggers or any other mail order supply company. Tammy

6. BlueHeronFarm

BlueHeronFarm New Member