What Brand and type of Dairy Pellet are you feeding!

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by FRW, Oct 3, 2008.

1. FRW

FRW New Member

I was wondering what type of Dairy Ration folks were using .The type I was using is not available in the area that I am in and Gas is too high to drive to go pick it up.So I am looking for a new Dairy Ration(without urea!!!) I also would like to know if any have feed a dairy ration and then switched to an all grain feed(Oats, Barley,Soybean and BOSS or Rice Bran mix) and if the could see a difference in milk production.
    I have used both and always had a better milk productions with the All Grain diet,supplemented with Alfalfa pellets,
    Whats your pick and your experiences.I know the pellet is so much easier!
    FLOYD :?

2. Theresa

Theresa New Member

I have never used a dairy pellet ration before so can't compare for you. Here I try to use the same feed for everyone. So it is easier for me to get oats, barley, and maybe add BOSS or a little (or sometimes I use an all grain for horses) then to get a dairy pellet. This way I can use the grain for the goats and the chickens instead of having to buy separate feeds and worry about someone getting the wrong thing if the kids are feeding. I also use alfalfa pellets. Now I do use a medicated feed for babies but once they are bred then I move to the milkstand grain.
    Hope this helps.
    Theresa

3. Sondra

Sondra New Member

I feed grain I mix myself no soy tho. usually oat /barley alittle corn /little beet pulp and little BOSS. or I buy 14% Bluebonnet dry horse ration at Tractor supply it has a little pellet in it with the oat etc. I then give at least 3lb alfalfa pellets per day per goat and coastal Bermuda grass hay. Bluebonnet Tech master complete loose mineral and we're done :)

4. goatkid

goatkid New Member