Weighing Goats

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Liberty Alpines, Jan 15, 2009.

1. Liberty Alpines

Liberty Alpines New Member

Hello All!
    I have a questions about weighing goats. I know that many of you use a weigh tape, as it's really the only practical way to weigh them after they get bigger. I have been using a tape for several years now, but have always doubted it's accuracy. I know it's not going to be 100% accurate, but sometimes it doesn't even seem close. I weigh taped one of my little doelings this morning, she is 8 months old and on the small side compared to my other doelings. She was weighing at 110 or something, which seemed really high to me. I weigh taped my biggest doe and she came out at 175 which seems high too. Any thoughts? Are tapes really this inaccurate? I am putting the tape right behind their front legs, like it shows on the tape. Is there a better place to put it? Or am I just not realizing how much goats really weigh? :shrug2
    Thanks,
    Kristin

2. Legend Hills

Legend Hills New Member

Do you place the tape over the top of the shoulders/withers or right behind them?

3. Daniel Babcock

Daniel Babcock Member

I weigh my goats on a scale. This has been easy up to this point as they are Mini Manchas and kid LaManchas. However I plan on getting a hanging scale and making a harness enabling me to get accurate weights on each of my animals for record purposes and also medication.

4. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

That's a bit over the top. I don't see many goats putting up with that. ;) :rofl

A weigh tape works great if it is placed correctly. It is a very accurate way to weigh your goats. No need to strap them to a scale. :)

My Nubian and LaManchas are easily that weight at that age. :)

Sara

5. Ashley

Ashley Active Member

When I first got goats I was very surprised by what they weight. They just weigh a lot more than they look like, to me anyway.

6. Legend Hills

Legend Hills New Member