uneven udder

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by hsmomof4, Dec 30, 2008.

1. hsmomof4

hsmomof4 New Member

One of my does kidded yesterday. For a number of reasons, I'm leaving the kids on their mom for a little bit. Her udder seemed even when she first freshened, but since the kids have started nursing, she has been uneven. I first noticed it this am when I went out to check on them, and I thought that perhaps the kids had been favoring one side over the other and so I milked her on the one side that was very full. But it was that way again this evening, and it was the same side that was very full and the other side seemed rather empty. In fact, I was not even able to get any milk from the one side. Now, that may be me, as I am very new at this and my technique probably leaves a lot to be desired, but it still has me concerned. :help2

2. homeacremom

homeacremom New Member

Sounds like the kids are not touching one side. Are you going to leave the kids on her long term? Keep emptying the full side 2x a day in the meantime. If you plan to leave the kids on her indefinitely you need to take the kids away until they are hungry (or at least one) and then get it started nursing on the fuller side.

3. Ashley

Ashley Active Member

Yes, most likely they are favoring one side. You'll need to milk once or twice per day even with babies on her to keep the udder even. As they start to eat more, they will discover the other side :)

4. hsmomof4

hsmomof4 New Member