Types of grain

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by OandA, Jun 8, 2017.

1. OandA

OandA New Member

Hello everyone. I am new to owning goats. So new that I'm on a waiting list and my kids haven't even been born yet but I am trying to find as much info as I can so that I can be prepared as possible when they arrive.
    My question may have been answered here before but I couldn't find it.
    When I read that goats need grain as a supplement when they are hay/pasture fed, what kind of grain do you recommend? Are you talking about BOSS, oats, barley, etc? Or actual feed?
    Thanks for the help.

Last edited: Jun 8, 2017
  2. jdavenport

jdavenport Member

You can mix your own, but if you're just starting out, its best to go with feed from the feed store made for goats. Once you know what you want, then you can get creative.

3. OandA

OandA New Member

I will be getting Nigerian Dwarf goats from a reputable breeder here in NC. If everything goes as planned they will be rotated in pasture. I have a feed store 5 minutes up the road that sells Chaffhaye that I want to try and then offer supplemental grain or feed. I have read really good things about the Chaffhaye and feel better about offering that since I am starting out new from scratch. I'm in a very rural area and have many options for dry hay but at this point I'm not sure about my confidence level in picking out good quality hay.
    Does anyone on here use Chaffhaye?

4. 3FarmersBrown

3FarmersBrown New Member

Be careful with the Chaffhaye and only a couple of young Nigerian Dwarfs.
    You are supposed to use a bag within so many days of opening it and with the heat and humidity here (I'm in NC too) you have to worry about mold.
    I know some people who use it exclusively but they have a fair number of standards and go through a bag pretty quick.
    I know some people who are scared to death of it.