Twiking Recipes

Discussion in 'Soap Making' started by VickiLynne, Nov 12, 2008.

1. VickiLynne

VickiLynne Member

I'm a newbie soaper for less than a year. I am having the best fun making soap. I've been using the Walmart
    Recipe and a simple veg. shortening, olive, coconut recipe. Now I want to step it up a notch and use some other oils to fashion a recipe of my own. What should I start with and how? I know I have to run everything through a soap calc etc. I guess my question is I want to start slow with minimal expense until I get a recipe that wows me and I can call my own. Can anyone give me suggestions where to start and what oils would be better to start experimenting with?
    Thanks,
    Vicki in NC

2. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

Have you played around with www.soapcalc.com ?

It is a wonderful place to start!

Sara

3. VickiLynne

VickiLynne Member

Sara,
    No I haven't. Do I just start plugging different types of oils? Or are there better oils than others.

Vicki in NC

4. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

Of course there are opinions... everyone will tell you something different.

Personally, I don't like lard and couldn't sell soap with lard in it while others love it and report excellent sales. Soybean oil is another that I won't soap.

What oils can you find locally? Are you opposed to ordering your soaping oils and butters?

Playing with a recipe is a personal thing. I love my recipe now but it took some tweaking to get exactly what I wanted. :)

Sara

5. VickiLynne

VickiLynne Member

Sara,

I live 20 miles from the nearest grocery store and/or Walmart. I can get soybean shortening, lard, olive oil, vegetable oil, coconut oil, safflower oil, almond oil, grapeseed oil, walnut oil, hazelnut oil all locally in the grocery stores here.
    I am not opposed to ordering my butters and oils from somewhere.

Vicki in NC

6. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

Cool :)