Treatment for congested udder

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Victoria99, Jan 23, 2019.

1. Victoria99

Victoria99 New Member

I have been working with this for 2 years now. I wanted to make sure it worked and that there wouldn't be any problems in the next kidding. So far, everything is working out great. No funny taste to the milk, no ill affects to the does, none to the babies (yes I do leave them on the dams while I do this and no problems).
    I have to use gloves because I am very sensitive to the DMSO. You have to have a soapy bucket to wash your hands between milkings, if you are milking multiple does (***because it is VERY messy). I just do this at the regular milking session, but whatever works for you. If you have someone that can help you, one can do the milking while the other does the "treatment".
    On with the treatment....
    get an empty plastic bottle (any kind that you can quirt the liquid out and not mess around with unscrewing a lid).
    1/2 cup DMSO liquid (not the gel)
    1/2 cup distilled water
    1 tsp. tea tree oil ( you can get it at Walmart in the pharmacy section)
    1 T Black seed oil (I get mine at Sprouts -farmers market, but any health food store should carry it
    2 T Turmeric Powder (also at Sprouts in the bulk spice section, much cheaper than in the regular spice area).

I double the recipe and mix it in a quart mason jar, fill the small squeeze bottle and keep the excess in the jar with a plastic lid. Refill when needed.