testing for CL (purchasing goats)

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Milking in Texas, Oct 23, 2008.

1. Milking in Texas

Milking in Texas Guest

I am new to diary goats. I was going to take in a couple goats for someone. The owner agreed to have them checked for CAE and CL, prior to coming to our place. One of the does came back with a positive titer to CL. Is that the same thing as being positive for CL? I am a little confused on the terminology. Any information would be appreciated.

2. Rambar Ranch

Rambar Ranch New Member

It can mean 1 of 2 things. Either the goat has an active case of Cl going on or she was vaccinated with the Cl vaccine. Without knowing if she was vaccinated or not you'll never really know, unless of course you find an abscess.

Ray

3. Milking in Texas

Milking in Texas Guest

Thanks, Ray. This is what I thought, but just wanted to clarify.

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Maria with your goal of milking in Texas :) I would not purchase anything that tested poistive period for CAE or CL. Although 'acceptable' in meat goats you will loose sales vaccinating for CL and having positive goats from the vaccine. When new you simply don't have the reputation it takes to be able to be trusted that it really is "only" poistive because of the vaccine. Buyer beware...do you have help in purchasing the stock you want? If you don't just ask. Vicki

5. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Yes Please just ask for help, pm Vicki

6. haeema

haeema New Member

Vicki has answered many questions for me. She shows lots of patience with nubies!! (not the goat LOL)

7. FRW

FRW New Member

Washington State University has been one of the most reliable testing facilities out here for years