tear ducts?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by CarlinsDarlin, Mar 19, 2008.

1. CarlinsDarlin

CarlinsDarlin New Member

Hi everyone.
    First, I'd like to say I've been lurking for a good while, and learning a lot from all of your posts. I'm a relative newbie with goats, and have much to learn. Thanks for all the information you share. I figured you experienced folks might be able to help me out with a question.

I have a big Nubian buck who is almost two years old. During the last week, I have noticed that his eyes (one in particular) are runny and matting up in the corner (closest to his nose). I thought at first he might be coming down with a cold, since human babies often have matty eyes when they have a cold. But, he hasn't been acting like he doesn't feel good, he doesn't have a runny nose... just gunky eyes. I have cleaned the gunk out of his eyes every day or so, and actually thought it was getting better (I thought maybe he had allergies and the recent rain settled the pollen some), but this evening I was scratching and petting on him after feeding, and went to clean out the little gunk that was still there, and noticed a knot under his left eye - just in the corner where tear ducts would be.

I think his tear ducts are clogged. I plan to take a warm wet washcloth out with me in the morning and see if he'll let me clean it up, but what else can I do to help him? I'm sure it probably hurts him or is at least uncomfortable. I've had styes and I know they're no fun. He's not the most tame thing, though he will let me pet him. Getting him on the stand to trim his feet or administer medication is a challenge, but once he's up there, he's easy enough to work with. We actually have planned to trim his feet and worm him this weekend (when my husband can help get him up on the stand), so I can give him antibiotics or anything else then if he needs them - till then I'm pretty limited with what I can do without help.