Stress

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Terry, Jun 4, 2008.

1. Terry

Terry Member

How do you help a doe that seriously stresses over going to shows? I don't show her but I have to take her when there's no-one home to milk her. She is a yearly ff.
    Terry

2. MysticHollowGoats

MysticHollowGoats New Member

I don't show (yet) but I know I have seen products for calves and horse that are supposed to calm them for shows and such.
    I have no experience with anything like that though.

*Can anybody tell that this SHY girl is trying to up her post count. Just so I can see how everbodys garden is going!!

3. wheytogosaanens

wheytogosaanens New Member

I would give her b-complex and Bo-Se for sure. Also Probios. Preventative so she doesn't get sick while under this stress.

Perhaps some essential oils like lavender dabbed on her nose? If she will eat garlic, feed her garlic. It is very relaxing to the nerves.

Camille (who doesn't need her post count increased! :) )

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Don't take her alone. Does she have a friend that she hangs out with at home? Take that goat with her also. When I start showing my FF I always take a friend for them to be pen with because they have just gotten into the milkbarn and they are not friends with the older milkers. Vicki

5. Terry

Terry Member

The only other doe that I have tries to beat the snot out of her so I can't pen them together.
    Terry

6. Terry

Terry Member

Oh I did give her b-complex and probios before we left for the show. She did eat hay and chew cud but she refused grain and alfalfa pellets and her milk production went down by half. Once we got home she went back to being her normal self.
    Terry

7. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Was she drinking lots of water?? gatorade in the water They won't eat grain and alfalfa if they won't drink water has been my experience.

8. Terry

Terry Member