Soap questions

Discussion in 'Soap Making' started by Faithful Crown Nubians, May 23, 2008.

1. I was looking on this link,
    http://www.candlesandwoodcrafts.com/woodensoapmolds.html

Im not sure what size of mold I should get. :sigh Any thoughts or suggestions?

Im also new to making soap. A friend of mine sent me everything i needed to make a batch of soap and it turned out great but I'd like to make my own now but I am not sure where to start.
    How do you decide which oils to use? And how much to use of each?

I am sure I'll have more questions. :help

Thanks in advance! :)

2. Halo-M Nubians

Halo-M Nubians New Member

You need to decide how large of a recipe you want to deal with before you pick a mold. The mold is definitely not required there are a lot of options for simple molds. I started with milk cartons..and I still like and use the silicone baking "pans". I also really like using individual bar molds..like milky way and others. When I started I just did 32 oz of oils (about 8 of the individual bars, give or take depending on size)..and its so easy to work with and traces really fast with the stick blender. Even just doing small batches like that I was over-run with soap until I started to sell it. Use a lye calculator to figure out your recipe-I use soapcalc.com

Here you can see pix of my individual bars..and the rough cut ones were just done in pans...
    http://www.halogoatsoap.com

3. Kalne

Kalne New Member

You'll need to decide what size bars you want and then what size batch you'll be wanting to make. Also, how you want to pretty up the tops or layer will determine if you want a slab or log.

As for the oils.....different ones bring different qualities to your soaps. Can't think of a site off the top of my head but you should be able to find several that will explain it better than I can.

4. What is the difference between a slab and log?

Are there oils that shouldn't be used together?