Should I bottle raise or Dam raise?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by backyard_farm, Feb 15, 2008.

1. backyard_farm

backyard_farm New Member

I am very new to goats, I only got mine last October. I bought goats only for having milk for my family, not for any type of profit. I would like to milk as long as possible and not breed every year as I have no interest in selling kids and do not want lots of goats either. Right now I have only two and they will kid soon. I was planning to let the does nurse the kids, but have been doing lots of reading and am wondering if the does will dry up milk after the kids wean. If I bottle feed the kids, will the does give milk a lot longer? Is it possible for them to give milk for two-three years or more before I need to breed again if I bottle raise the kids? Also, if I bottle raise, do the kids need to be separated from the does all of the time or just for a few days?
    Forgive me if my questions sound stupid, I have read conflicting views on everything to do with goats and have no idea what is right.
    Thanks for any advice,
    Belinda

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

If you bottle raise, depending on your goat you may be able to milk thru at least one year. but you separtate babies for at least 1 yr in my opinion.

3. Ravens Haven

Ravens Haven New Member

I have heard of does that have milked several years without being bred again but I don't think it is something that happens often and definately something I haven't witnessed first hand. I would think bottle raising would probably be best for you in this case or if you don't want the kids have someone ready to take them as soon as they are born and then all you have to do is milk the mom.

Autumn

4. Doc

Doc New Member