Dairy Goat Info Forums banner

Saanen producing less milk. Can't figure out why. Please Help I am a total newbie.

2K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Katrina Anon 
#1 ·
I have a 3 year old Saanen. I just got her about 2 months ago. She came with her 3 month (now 5 month old) doe. I have been separating the mama and baby at night to milk in the mornings. I was getting close to half a gallon. Slowly over the past 2 to 3 weeks her milk production had decreased. I am now only getting a little less than a quart. I am totally brand new to dairy goats. Or any goat for that matter. I just don't understand. I dewormed her about a month ago, her poop looks normal, normal rumen sounds, gave her a topical tick/ fly treatment last week (permethrin), Famacha looks normal for her. I do think she looks on the skinny side but I THINK that's normal. The last two mornings when I go to get her from her stall she is laying down and this morning she slightly hesitated to get up. It doesn't seem she is drinking at night, she is eating all the grain I give her for milking (about 2 to 3 cups plus 1/2C alfalfa pellets). I do see her drink and eat hay during the day. I give free choice hay. Its a roll of field hay we bought last year that has been kept dry. They actually just finished it and I will be giving them spring cut hay we bought this year. They roam about half an acre of woods and pasture. I have not had any bloodwork done on her. I've attached two pictures incase something sticks out to someone more experienced. Any suggestions for what to try. Thank you!!

Attachments

See less See more
#2 ·