Rinds?

Discussion in 'Cheese & Dairy' started by Leo, Nov 14, 2008.

1. Leo

Leo New Member

Okay, so for next year I wanted to work on making natural rinds. I mostly wax, and have very little experience with natural rinds and what little experience, the cheese wheels(1/2lb.) turned into lumps of solid rind.

So I was talking to one cheesemaker and she said that it is impossible to have a small cheese wheel(1lb.>) with a natural rind. I was thinking about making 2-5lb cheese wheels next year. Do you think that they would age well for say 3mths.-1year?

For rind treatments, I was thinking about oiling, rubbing with cocoa, coffee, and also making a bandaged cheese(lard or butter rub). Not all on the same cheese. ;) How is your experience with oils, rubs, and bandaging?

I was also interested in wrapping leaves on the cheese wheels, but how will that affect the rind? I've only wrapped edible leaves and flowers on soft cheeses so I have no experience with it in regards to aging. Do the leaves need to be fresh or dried? Or boiled to treat so they don't rot on the cheese? Any tips? :biggrin
    Thanks,
    Megan

2. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Guest

Megan, bandages will mold and need to be checked and changed often. I use natural rinds on many of my cheeses. You just need to baby them, constantly salting, oiling, and cleaning them on a weekly basis until you eaten.

Christy

3. Leo

Leo New Member

Yes, I've heard from the other cheesemaker, that natural rinds were more work than they were worth, but I thought that I'd give it a try(again). :D

When do you know when to change the bandage?
    Thanks,
    Megan

4. Sondra

Sondra New Member

I read somewhere that it is a daily thing TOO much WORK for me course I don't even make hard cheese yet :) Can you tell I don't like long waits and work :biggrin

5. Leo

Leo New Member