Repeated frothy bloat in pregnant doe - please help!

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Granolamom, Feb 8, 2010.

1. Granolamom

Granolamom New Member

Okay, here we go: I'm brand-spanking new to this forum, and slightly intimidated, due to the fact that I'm a beginner goat keeper amongst so many experts. We've had our 2 Pygmy/Alpine does (mother and daughter) for almost a year, and I'm still learning new things about goat management every day.
    I've had serious issues with my doe, Aisa, who was bred to a Toggenburg billy in October '09, and a good friend of mine recommended posting here, because we can't seem to figure this out.
    On December 25th she had the first of numerous frothy bloat attacks, and we cannot seem to find a reason for her bloating. She also has an increased breathing rate (I counted 42 breaths per minute, while she was resting!), and I hear watery, sloshing sounds from her rumen for the better part of the day. She has access to free-choice hay (we've recently switched from fescue to bermuda, and now to Alfalfa), and Noble Goat medicated pellets. I also have free-choice Golden Blend minerals (which she really has no interest in), and a billy goat mineral block for her. I change their water daily, and keep the goat shed clean (Stall-dry, wood shavings, and straw as bedding). I used to cut fresh brush for my goats on a daily basis (currently mostly privet and some pine, since that's all we have at the moment in Georgia), but have stopped completely, because the last 2 times I gave it to them, she bloated within 30 minutes. I top dress her grain with Probios, and treat her with the Probio gel after every bloat attack. I've become fairly good at knowing when she's about to have another attack (always in the evening, never during the day), and have started to catch it before it gets really bad by immediately drenching her with olive oil and baking soda. Afterwards she's fine, and will act like nothing happened the next day.