problem

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by catdance62, Apr 18, 2010.

1. catdance62

catdance62 New Member

I have a doeling that is about 5 weeks old. She had her cocci prevention (Di-Methox) for 5 days when she was 3 weeks old, as did all the other kids (total 15). a few days ago she developed the scours, watery yellowish liquid. I treated her again for coccidia, this is day 5, and no improvement. I am going to try giving her Valbazen again (she had already had previously). She is dam raised. Any ideas? She is acting alright, playful, no fever. None of the other kids have this problem.

2. lexnspice

lexnspice New Member

I'm no expert, but I would give her some peto-bismol for her tummy, and could help with the dirreaha, I would'nt keep treating her for coccia, or worms unless I knew for sure what was up. I wouldnt have wormed her yet anyway, but we all have are different timetables and prevention programs. the first 5 day preventive was good, I also do mine at 3 weeks. Wait for some one more inform in the know how, but I would go ahead with the peto-bismol. Patty

3. Dana

Dana New Member

You need to do a fecal and see what is going on. If it's cocci then you know that you need to give Di-methox again. If it's worms then you need to worm her with Ivomec or something like it for parasites.

4. Theresa

Theresa New Member

I would do a fecal. She probably has worms and you need to use whatever wormer works for you adult goats. When a baby is raised with the adults, then you have to worm them the same as you would adults, along with doing cocci prevention.
    Theresa

5. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member