Pregnant does at shows....

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Faithful Crown Nubians, Apr 14, 2008.

1. After reading a post on another forum it got me thinking.

The person stated they took their heavily bred doe to the show with them (Didnt show her, just took her incase she kidded.) The doe was like day 142-145....somewhere around that area.

What are your thoughts on taking a heavily pregnant doe to a show?

Thanks in advance!

2. Shykid Acres

Shykid Acres Guest

Think of all the diseases that might be there! Yicks! Although I am fairly new to goats my guts says..."Very bad idea." ??? And what about the stress of transporting her there besides. :nooo I personally would not do it. I would have someone stay with her back at home or *gulp* not go.

-Kim

3. Same here Kim.

I'd be too concerned with the pregnant doe to go in and show the doe that was suppose to be shown anyways.... So there for....might as well stay home and save my money. Not to mention any illnesses... and the stress on the doe... the list goes but wanted to see what everyone elses opinions were. I wouldn't take a heavily pregnant doe to a show...

4. Katarina

Katarina New Member

Mom would stay home and I would go. We don't like the idea of taking a doe to the show at all while they are pregnant and will not take a kid to a show that is less then at least four months old.

There is no way I would be bringing my goat to a show that was that close to a due date. Even my best doe!

5. Aja-Sammati

Aja-Sammati Active Member

:blush Well, I have taken two of my very pregnant does to a one day milk test...they were due within 5-7 days I seem to remember. They handled the stress fine- it was the doe that I was taking to do the milk test that fell apart and made herself sick. One good reason to not take them is the fact that they won't have passive immunity to the 'things' in the ground at a show like they do at your home.