Pregnant doe & Ivomec PLUS OK?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by peregrine, Dec 17, 2008.

1. peregrine

peregrine New Member

Hi -- I am new here.
    I have been searching the forums for specific info re: the use of ivomec plus in pregnant does and cannot find anything.

I have two new saanens (one FF PG doe and one wether brought home a week ago) and I am a newbie to dairy goats. I did a fecal today and found what I think COULD BE both HC and Liver fluke eggs. I have reviewed the photos available here and have some experience with this after having some goats here a few months ago. I really just cant be sure what I am dealing with because some of the eggs have the football feild shape and some have the football pointy-at-both-ends shape....so, I figure I should treat for both...or maybe not now?

The doe is doing well, she is in good weight and has decent famacha scoring. Shes a nine month old FF--I would like to see another degree of redness to her conjuntiva, but she is good. Wether is the same--I am just really asking about the doe because she is PG. And she is still growing herself so I want to be sure to do what is best for her...without compromising her pregnancy. I am particularly concerned because I don't want to overload her doing another treatment in ten days, then again ten days after. Maybe thats too much for a pregnant animal....maybe if she is doing well I should just wait it out and only treat the wether, and then I will be able to see if the treatment was effective before moving on to her...IDK though...if it is liverfluke shouldn't I take care of it asap?

I did not do a fecal with chambered slides because I am not set up for this yet, but I can say that the fecals I checked were not loaded sky high--only about 10-20 eggs present per slide per one fecal berry. I *think* I can get away with not worming now, but *if* the doe were not PG I would definately worm because they just arrived here at our place.