pasteurizing and flavor

Discussion in 'Cheese & Dairy' started by hsmomof4, Jan 9, 2009.

1. hsmomof4

hsmomof4 New Member

Ok, so maybe this is a silly question, but I've been wondering....

It's important to cool milk quickly to avoid a goaty flavor, so does pasteurization of milk result in it having a "goatier" flavor than if it was raw, since you have to heat it up?

2. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Guest

If you quickly heat fresh milk to pasteurize it then quickly chill it it will not taste goaty. To me, pasteurized milk has a 'cooked' taste :p

Christy

3. Sondra

Sondra New Member

No not goaty IMO just like Christy (cooked)

4. Qz Sioux

Qz Sioux Member

Sorry, I'm new to all of this, so please bear with me as I'm in my learning stage.

Can you explain what you mean by "cooked" flavor? Do you mean it tastes like warmed "grocery store cow's milk"?

Also, can you explain the pro's and con's to pasteurizing? Is it really necessary?

I know that when we had it years ago, the only thing that my son and I really noticed was that it was "thicker" than bottled cows milk. But the first time I ever tried goats milk (when I was a kid) tasted HORRIBLE! I can't pass that off on my DH or daughter. As long as they didn't know the milk was goats milk, they would drink it. My DH just thought it was cows milk getting close to the expiration date. If he had looked on the bottle, he would have spit it out cuz the date on the jug would have been quite "past due"!

Thanks for bearing with me,

Suzie

5. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Susie I never pasturize for us to drink and I just pour out some of DH store bought and fill with goats milk otherwise he wouldn't drink it. Tho he will eat cheese/ice cream /gravy/ shakes etc. and knows it is goats milk. Sometimes out of his jug it is almost all goats milk and he never knows. As long as your super clean when milking and cool you milk quickly and keep it cold you really can't tell the difference and is so much better for you.