Okay, kefir newbie here - questions!

Discussion in 'Cheese & Dairy' started by Good Goats, Nov 14, 2007.

1. Good Goats

Good Goats New Member

Hi all,

Okay, I got some kefir granules. I am just wondering if I should follow the directions on the box, and if it's like yogurt where you can take some of the stuff that you already made and put it in more milk and it makes more? Here's what the directions on the box say (the brand is Yo'gourmet, Freeze-dried Kefir Starter):
    1. Heat 1 quart of milk to 180 F, or bring to the boiling point.
    2. Dissolve 5g of culture in a small amount of the cooled milk in a cup. Pour back into the quart and mix well.
    3. Pour the inoculated milk into a clean container, cover and let stand at room temperature until curd forms (approximately 24 hours).
    4. Refrigerate about 8 hrs to stop the process.
    5. Stir to liquefy and enjoy. Always store kefir in the refrigerator.

Okay, if anybody could help me that would be great! I have LOTS of MILK!

Thanks,
    Suriyah

2. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Guest

Sorry, I don't have any experience with the culture, only the live grains. I hope someone els can help you though.

Christy

3. Sondra

Sondra New Member

If I am not mistaken it is a one time deal with the culture. But will do some checking.

4. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Well this one says you can make 7batches so tho it isn't the same brand as yours, give it a try.

Instructions to Activate Starter:

Into a glass container mix together the entire contents of one foil package of kefir starter with one quart of slightly warmed milk (about skin temperature, or 92° F). Shake, stir or whip with whisk to mix well.