Newbie here - have a couple of questions :)

Discussion in 'Soap Making' started by nappint, Jul 11, 2008.

1. nappint

nappint New Member

Thanks to all of you (and the Walmart recipe) I made my first batch of soap last night.

I didn't have any fragrances so I just made Oatmeal, Honey and Goat milk soap. It was very uneventful - no curdled milk, volcanic eruptions or acid burns LOL! I really enjoyed the process. I've already unmolded and cut it because it was getting pretty hard and I didn't want it to get to where I couldn't cut it AND I also took a sliver and washed my hands with it...sorry I just couldn't help myself (it actually had suds and everything).

I was reading another soap board a few weeks ago and there was a thread by someone who just started soaping and she was already trying to sell her soap. Quite a few members were really upset with her saying she didn't have enough experience and that she could hurt someone badly with a lye heavy soap - some even went so far as to say that they soaped for 2 years before they even thought about selling :really

After reading the Walmart recipe and some other threads on this site - it sounds as if the soap (if mixed properly and run through a calculator) is ready almost immediately except for the evaporation and hardening of the bars...Is this right? Am I missing something?

I would like to eventually sell soap after I feel like I know what I'm doing and after it is fully cured but I don't believe I need to soap for 2 years before feeling ready to sell. What are the things I need to know before selling soap?

I already have a place to sell that I'm sure would be a good location but I don't want to jump in until I have all my bases covered. Any of your thoughts would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks - I love this site!

2. MRFBarbara

MRFBarbara Guest

Hi Judy,