newbie GM soaper

Discussion in 'Soap Making' started by redskygal, Jan 18, 2008.

1. redskygal

redskygal New Member

Hello All,

I am new to this site. This is my first posting, however I have been lurking, reading, and learning very much. I live in Boulder County,CO and have a small herd of goats. When I soap I make a vegetable oil soap, it sells best here.

My question is how do you prepare the GM to go into the soap. I have been making soap for a couple of years and have attempted GM soap, but always ended up with a stinky pile of orange goo.

I understand you have to freeze the milk, and then add the lye. Do you use just straight GM or do you dissolve some of the lye with water and then add the GM. Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I have a new shipment of oils and butters coming in, and do not want an exotic pile of stinky orange goo.

Thanks,
    Kelly

2. Truly

Truly New Member

Welcome Kelly to the forum.

I'm a newbie soaper too. But I found a way to not get orange goo with the GM that has worked consistantly for me.

I disolve the lye in water, equal parts. ie, 8oz lye, 8oz water. I then place it in a dish of ice water to cool it down.

I then go about mixing my oils etc. When the lye water is down to about 80 or so, I add my fresh GM. The container is still in the ice water. The GM stirs right in without getting too hot, so no orange goo. About that time, I'm ready to mix my lye and oils.

Hope that makes sense and works for you.

3. kidsngarden

kidsngarden New Member

Freeze your GM in cubes if you want 100% GM soap. I just weigh out the GM and dump the lye on it and stir, stir, stir!

If you are not making 100% GM, mix the lye with equal it's weight in water to dissolve, cool to RT. Then add the lye mix to RT oils. mix, then add RT GM. Works well

Welcome!

Bethany

4. redskygal

redskygal New Member