New Here - Babies coming

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by rhughe13, Feb 14, 2008.

1. rhughe13

rhughe13 New Member

Hello Everyone. My first post here and I'm new to goats. I've got a Nubian doe that is getting ready to kid very soon. First time for both of us. I calculated a due date of March 3rd, but I think it will be sooner. I have been trying to learn the signs and have been thinking she will be kidding in the next two days.

I have the doe separated in her pen with a baby monitor, so I hope that I can catch her ahead of time. It is really cold here tonight at 22 degrees in North Alabama. I am prepared to bring her in my mud room where there is a wood stove should she go into labor before it warms up the next couple of days.

Otherwise I will probably take a small ceramic heater and 100w spotlight out to the shed.

Sigh.... Its going to be a learning experience for me, but I'm thankful to all the great posts here.

Wish me luck!

2. goatkid

goatkid New Member

Welcome. How did you calculate your doe's due date? Did you hand bred her? Goats have a 150 day gestation. I suppose 22 degree nights seem cold where you live. Here in Montana, it's not unusual for the nights to be that cold when our goats start kidding in March. I have never brought my does inside to kid. They do just fine in their shelters bedded with straw. If you plan to leave the kids with their dam, make sure they get their colostrum and they should be fine in the barn. If you are going to botttle feed the kids, then I'd bring them inside.

3. Melissa

Melissa New Member

Hi and welcome to the forum!
    I'm going to have to second goatkid in that it would be best to leave your doe outside in the barn to kid. did you catch the thread about kidding signs and what to look for? I'm sure you'll both be fine for the whole thing. ;)