need help/advice on how to dry this doe up please :+)

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by MiddleRiver, Sep 8, 2008.

1. MiddleRiver

MiddleRiver New Member

I just got a 7 yr old reg. french alpine doe. She is a BIG girl, and quite the milker - peaking 16lbs every year. She freshened in March, not long ago she then went down to 13-14lbs, and then they moved her to one a day milking for me before i got her - so i am milking her once a day and am getting 3/4 gal from her still. I really want to dry her up and be done milking for the year, get everybody bred ( i want to breed her this month ), and then start milking again next spring.

I am new to drying up does. I've only dried one up so far - a FF. Now i have this gal, and really worry about her udder health and feel like i'm going to mess something up. She is starting to show her age and is starting to sag ;) She has been a good show doe and producer of wonderful show alpines, but now her rear attachment is showing some stress/age, and i would like not to make it worse if possible. She is getting alfalfa pellets, grass hay, minerals and a custom grain mix on the milkstand.

So where do i start ? Can somebody help put an action plan together for me and also let me know what to watch for ? Thanks !

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

First off for udder health you don't start milking a doe like this once a day. But with that being said and since it is already done will go to the next issue. Most milk thier does 305 days in other words you would continue milking her until 100 days into her gestation and then dry her up.
    Now for your actually question, you take her off grain put her out to pasture and don't milk her again on the stand. When she is to full then relieve her out in the pasture onto the ground (clip her to the fence) but just relieve the pressure.

3. MiddleRiver

MiddleRiver New Member