More questions

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Little Moon, Jan 21, 2008.

1. Little Moon

Little Moon New Member

What does it mean when it says "she has earned her dry leg" ? Or first leg?

TIA,
    Anne

2. baileybunch

baileybunch New Member

Since no one has answered, I can give you my uneducated explanation! This is a show term. I don't show and am a little ignorant...but I have a doeling that I bought this summer who had "earned her dry leg". It means she won a class at an ADGA sanctioned show(?). A "dry" leg means the doe is dry as in not milking. Our breeder said she can earn one "dry" leg and needs to earn three "legs" total to become a champion but the other two legs must be while she is freshened. I too don't understand all of the terms...GCH is Grand Champion but I don't know how they earn that. SGCH(?)...something Grand Champion...don't know the "S". And I don't know what "Permanent" Championship means either. I'm still learning!

3. Little Moon

Little Moon New Member

Thank you. I appreciate you taking the time to answer my question. If anyone has something to add that would be great. Thanks again Susie.

4. goatkid

goatkid New Member

Hi Anne: Susie is correct when she says a dry leg is earned by a young doe who has not yet freshened. A doe need to earn three legs to become a permanant champion, two of these in milk. This is then recorded on her papers. In order for a doe to earn her "leg" she needs to win best of breed, for which she gets a GCH ribbon. The second best doe of breed earns reserve champion. If the doe who beats her has already won her 3 legs, the RCH earns a restricted leg, which is the same as a dry leg. A goat can only have one restricted leg toward her championship. Hope this helps. We should be having our club show in Big Timber, MT in June. If you are still in the area then, come join us and things will then be easier for you to understand. Kathie

5. Kaye White

Kaye White New Member

To further confuse you......