Luted the whole herd...just about

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Anita Martin, Oct 16, 2008.

1. Anita Martin

Anita Martin Senior Member

I decided to lute all five of my does instead of just the two I didn't want to breed back to their sire. I saw my buck breed two does, and got the dates. Then he started jumping the fence into their paddock, but I never saw anyone else in heat. I got my lute today and decided to lute everyone whom I was unsure of. I HAVE to know exact breeding dates as I attend every birth. My question is....I luted around 6-8pm, depending on the doe and her feeding order. Now, they are all acting crazy, like they are in heat! How fast does Lute act? They can all be bred at any time as they are at weight.. I just need to know the exact date as I CANNOT waste so many vacation days this spring waiting on kids. I NEED to know exactly when I can lute so I can be present for births. I have never done this before, just luted one doe last spring to bring on birth and it did work. Is it 36 hours before abortion if they were pregnant? If not pregnant, will they start cycling soon?
    Thanks so much....anita

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

believe it can be anywhere from 12 to 48 hrs to abort. not sure when the recycling starts , can't remember but the first right after lute is not always a positive out come so has been suggested to wait for the next cycle

3. Anita Martin

how come the outcome is not always positive? Just no kids, or kids with problems? Breeding in Nov. is fine with me.

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

If you use lute after implantation in a good IM shot, it is always going to abort, always going to open the cervic and deliever kids. I would breed on the lute heat since you don't know if you are aborting or using it to bring them into heat.