Long Lactations-Genetics or breeds?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by baileybunch, Nov 26, 2007.

1. baileybunch

baileybunch New Member

I have a grade Alpine doe (family milk goat) who I have been milking for 18 months now. I didn't breed her last fall. She gave more but as her lactation progressed, she settled with a consistent 3/4 gallon per once a day milking. She is bred now and will be dried off in a few months.

Wanting to maintain a small family milk goat herd and not having to breed every year is appealing to some.

My friend (who owns a few La Manchas) is VERY interested in Alpines because of their long lactations. Because of my limited experience in goats, I can't say that this is an Alpine trait. I am wondering if it is just an individual, unique quality or if it is breed specific or if it is genetics. I haven't had any other Alpines freshen yet to compare.

Compared to the LaMancha doe I have, this doe is far more consistent and gives much more milk. But that could just be the goats.

What are your ideas on this?

2. Tracy in Idaho

Tracy in Idaho New Member

In my herd, yes it seems to be a trait. Agatha and her offspring do well not so much with pulling huge daily numbers (though she's had a few of those this year) but by consistently milking -- at 305 days when we did her last test, she still milked 10#. I have no doubt that we could easily milk her through if we chose to.

I think there is certainly a genetic link, and also management plays into long lactations.

Tracy

3. Kaye White

Kaye White New Member

I think it's genetics and not just by breed. My Oberhasli would gladly just keep on milking and is really hard to dry up. So are two of my Toggs, sisters. I've also got a saanen here that has been milking for 2 years and owner wants her bred...working on that.
    Kaye

4. baileybunch

baileybunch New Member