Long Labor

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Anita Martin, Mar 1, 2008.

1. Anita Martin

Anita Martin Senior Member

Hello,
    This is my FIRST year kidding. We had our first babies born yesterday. It did not go like I thought it should, and I would like some feedback on what I might do next time if it happens again. Delilah started early labor yesterday morning. I had to go trim some horses and when I got back it was obvious she was trying to kid. She was restless and pawing and her tail head was protrudding etc. She finally laid down and began pushing around 12pm, and I saw a bubble. However, she got back up and was restless for another hour and a half, meanwhile pushing out bubbles and leaking lots of fluid. I called my neighbor over and we sat with her for all that time. She was not having strong contractions and just could not seem to concentrate on the task at hand. Finally she started bearing down pretty seriously and after lots of pushing on her part and some help from my friend on our part, she had a healthy 9.5 pound baby boy. She continued her restless behavior and we felt she had another kid in there. This was around 2pm. It wasn't until 6:30 or 7pm that I went back out to check and she had finally passed the placenta and I could see feet on the next kid. He came out much easier than the first. But still, mom was restless. About two hours later she finally passed the second after birth.
    I did not have any drugs on hand. I had called my vet about getting bo-se shots and he was supposed to call me back, but never did. We do not have any large animal vets around here, (and this is farm country) except one for horses. Everyone else only does dogs and cats. My question is, how do I get some of the drugs needed for kidding such as bo-se, oxytocin, etc, if I need a prescription, but since none of the vets do large animals, they won't give me one? Or am I just asking wrong?
    I appreciate any and all advice anyone can give me : :help