Lambar Feeding

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Jo@LaudoDeumFarm, Mar 28, 2008.

1. Jo@LaudoDeumFarm

Jo@LaudoDeumFarm New Member

I have a lambar sitting on a shelf in my garage. It's been there for two years. How do you all get the kids on them? Can you share some tips for us?

2. VickiLynne

VickiLynne New Member

I feed them with pop bottles with the lambar nipple on it for starters. Then switch them over to the bucket. Since they are used to the nipple it isn't that hard for them to catch on. I just put them in front of the nipple on the bucket and let them suck my finger and then guide them onto the nipple. After a few feedings like this they just "get it" that that is where the milk is.

Vicki in NC

3. Bilrite Farms

Bilrite Farms New Member

Get rid of Nubians and Nubian crosses :biggrin

Seriously, though - I have lots of tips. Start the kids on lambar nipples from the get go. I've only had a couple of kids, including NDs, that I have had to use a smaller nipple on. Get the kids to stand and nurse as soon as they are able and get the nipple at the right angle to mimic the lambar. Make some sort of mini-lambar, there were photos posted for a coffee can lambar. Or we use a smaller bakery pail or whatever. Make sure the milk is very close to the top of the lambar initially (hence the mini size). Put the kid on the nipple. Some won't open their mouths, some will pull back and want to do it themselves, some won't suck. Some will turn sideways like they would nurse from mom. Work with them, most will figure it out and start to suck immediately. Just watch them since the babies sometimes don't like to stand still to nurse. Check for full tummies. Most of our kids are on a lambar by day 2-3. I don't know why we ever thought we liked to clean bottles!

I think that the height of the nipples and the ease of getting milk are the most important.

Trisha

4. Sondra

Sondra New Member