Kid Health Management

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Country-Brooks Farm, Jan 20, 2008.

1. Country-Brooks Farm

Country-Brooks Farm New Member

Hi everyone,
    I am new to the group and thought i would introduce myself. I am Cody Welch. I am owner of Country-Brooks Farm. I have been breeding Alpines for about 4 years. I breed for show and milk production. I have a very healthy herd of about 15-20 goats. But, I have yet to find a health care routine that is suitable to my climate for kids. If anyone has a good health routine that they follow for their kids with little vaccination, please give me some pointers.
    Thanks!

2. 2Sticks

2Sticks New Member

Hi Cody,
    Welcome! I see from your web site that you in Central Ms. I'm in South Ms. and have Nubians. Glad to have you on the board!

Tamera

3. Country-Brooks Farm

Thanks! Do you show? Mississippi Goat Association is a great orginazition for Mississippi breeders. They have two ADGA sanctioned shows each year and a one day milk test/fun sho. The website is www.mississippigoatassociation.org

4. NubianSoaps.com

NubianSoaps.com New Member

Since your also in the south your problems are likely similar to me...and welcome to the forum :)

The does are vaccinated (CD&T, Lysigin for staph, and a pasteurella vaccintaion) before being bred (pasterurella) and before kidding (CD&T and a booster of Lysigin) so they have real viable immunites in the colostrum to give to the kids. I also prebreeding and prekidding give Bo-se. I also use a wonderful mineral mix...all of this gives you healthy kids. Since kids are born sterile, high quality colostrum is a must, and it doesn't come from first fresheners. You really want to use colostrum from your oldest does, even if all the kids you have only get 2 to 4 ounces of it, and then the rest from their young dam.....sure they can all drink moms colostrum but the improvement in herd health in your kids when they drink old doe colostrum is really amazing.