INFO please poisonous plants

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Sheryl, Mar 30, 2008.

1. Sheryl

Sheryl New Member

Hi everyone. I've been busy and haven't been posting much. I have family moving back to the farm, and it is a like fruit basket turnover. I am a farmer/livestock raiser. my new brother in law is a hunter. sooo, he is taking part of the pasture land, and wanting to plant red clover and white clover to feed deer during the summer (I think it is too dry here for white clover). Is this okay for cattle/horses/goats to graze on? Any info given tonight before he comes back in the morning and starts planting would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Sheryl

2. Sheryl

Sheryl New Member

thanks Sondra. I knew I could depend on you. I tryed doing a search myself, but didn't find the infor you provided. Now Since he is a hunter and is wanting to attract deer, all I have to do is worry about the meningeial worm or however you spell it. So what do I look for and how to I prevent my goats from getting this worm?

Sheryl

3. whimmididdle

whimmididdle Guest

I think that I have read many times before, that the danger on most of clovers is letting your animals graze on them while the clover is wet with rain/dew.
    Deer worm.....not to sure that you gonna completely be able to avoid that possibility to exist at any time .....lots of deer in Tx, and Al. toooo.