Inducing Labor

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by cmharris6002, Feb 20, 2008.

1. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Guest

I have a doe that was due 2/17. I'd like to induce her but I have never done it before. I can get 2cc of lute from the vet. I have on hand Pre-Def (like Dex?) and Oxytocin. How should I go about doing this?

Thanks,
    Christy

2. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

2cc of Lute & 5cc of Dex. Expect labor 29-36 hours later. Since she is overdue, be prepared for the babies to arrive earlier.

Sara

3. Kaye White

Kaye White New Member

Sara,
    You ever used the Pre-def 2x instead of Dex?
    I don't know that I used the Pre-Def instead of Dex. I know we were always very cautious with it's use over Dex.

Don't use oxytocin until she has kidded out.
    Kaye

4. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

No Kaye, I haven't used Pre-def. I plan to stick with Dex. I figure if it ain't broke... :D

Sara

5. Kaye White

Kaye White New Member

:biggrin Just what I thought! I read the lables and blah,blah,blah....I don't think you really want to use this drug the same as Dexamethasone. We used it a lot for external topicals and for cow deliveries where the calf had been stuck for a couple days! Really think you're putting your doe at risk.
    You're going to vet for Lute...just ask for 5cc of 2mg/ml Dexamethasone.?
    Kaye

6. cmharris6002

cmharris6002 Guest

Okay, I'm getting both the DEX and the lute from the vet. Hr said that the Pre-Def won't work as well as the DEX for inducing, said that is his choice if a steroid is needed and you want to try to keep the pregnancy.

Thanks guys!
    Christy

7. Kaye White

Kaye White New Member

Actually, we use the Dex to develop the lungs on the kids, as much as helping the doe with inducing labor.
    That's what the Lute does.
    Kaye

8. BlissBerry

BlissBerry Guest

And also Kaye, I have found the timing of the delivery to be much more reliable when using Dex in conjunction with the Lute. Have you noticed this as well?