I'm new to this and would like some info

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by backtotheland, Jan 9, 2008.

1. backtotheland

backtotheland New Member

I'm new to this and just purchased a bred LaMancha and a bred Nubian, both first timers. They look incredibly small to me and I can't get the woman I bought them from to give me their dates of birth, the dates they were bred or any health info on them. I do know the LaMancha was bred in November. I feel like such an idiot for buying goat that were so little but I didn't know that when I bought them. I figure they can't be more than six to eight months old. I'm not sure what to look for. Every day when I feed them I feel their bellies and rub their legs thinking this might help when it comes time to milk them. Right now they are in the same pen with my sheep and everyone seems to be getting along remarkably well. The woman I got them from told me not to feed them more than a handfull of grain a day so the babies wouldn't get too big but now today someone told me something different. A handfull of grain a day doesn't seem like a lot for a gestating female. Also what minerals can I give them? Should they be getting extra copper? I have a mineral mix that I use for the sheep but since sheep can't have copper I will have to figure out how to get the goats the copper if they need more than what is in the mineral mix. Also, should I be feeding them baking soda? I think I read somewhere that they should have access to baking soda. I know this was probably a dumb thing to do but I'm hoping we can get through this without loosing the goats or their kids. Thanks for any help. Donna

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Hi Donna first things first you need to update your profile with the breed of goats and your location so we can help according to the location re: minerals /worms/ feed etc.

tho some of these things are basic to any goat if you have sickness we need to know this.