If you only had 3 mins

Discussion in 'Cheese & Dairy' started by Patty13637, Dec 12, 2008.

1. Patty13637

Patty13637 New Member

to convince someone to try or taste your cheese what would you say ? I am taking a marketing class and need some help as this is an assignment and there is also grant money to be won.

Thanks.

Patty

2. Leo

Leo New Member

Hmm...I'm not good with words, but with talking with family and neighbors who were confirmed goat cheese haters, I just hand a slice of cheese on a cracker to the person in question, tell them it's tangy or just like this or that cheese, and give it to them. Most will eat it, and then Poof, now they like goat cheese.

If I didn't have cheese with me when I was talking about goat cheese. For most friends they have consirns about taste or lactose intolerance.

So chevre is a cream cheese taste, most people don't know about brie that I've talked to(and to me brie is unique, earthy with slight mushroomy overtones), and for ones that hate feta, as soon as they say that(like oh, I hate ...) I just tell them I understand I can't stand store bought feta,(I can't)so I make a mild feta that I use for pasta sauce and pizza cheese. Then they are like hey, eyes brighten up, and want to try some.

Buzz words can help get the point across quickly. Like organic/natural, with the folks who think goats get that rBH hormone, but that term is getting overused. I would use artisan rather than homemade due to semantic subtleties of wanting to portray fine craftsmanship.

Lets see, I know it sounds bad but generally I don't enfasize the goat in the goat cheese. So I'll say try some artisan muenster cheese or put out a plate of cheese and yell at my family(mostly mom and sisters) to try it, and then tell them what it was after they tried it. ;)