I need a Dairy Goat 101 pregnancy

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by GoatsforGuatemala, Feb 7, 2014.

1. GoatsforGuatemala

GoatsforGuatemala Junior Member

I'm new to goats. I am preparing to breed my Nubian doe this month. Now I have several years of experience with both dairy and beef cattle.
    I have several questions that I hope some veterans will answer.

1. Usually cattle are prenancy tested using the palpation method by a
    a vet or the herdsman. How is pregnancy testing done on does?

2. With cattle their are vaccines to the cow at very time during pregnancy that innoculates the soon to be born calf. And, their are also vaccines and vitamin supplements to give to new borns immediately via needle and nostrils. What is required or recommended for freshening does and new kids?

3. Also, with dairy cattle, the new calf taken from mom within hours of birth.
    Colostrum is taken from mom and bottle fed to the new born calf. As soon as mom's colostrum returns to milk she is put back on the milk line. In the case of a first calf heifer, rather than feeding her colostrum, we feed colostrum from an older dam that has been frozen, because it contains more nutrients. How is this process different with goat does and kids?

4. One last question. I think that I know the answer, but I"ll ask anyhow so I have not surprises. When a cow has twins of opposite gender, often the female of the pair is sterile. Is that true of goats
    ?

2. Hello fellow sinner and welcome to the forum!