Horn regrowing (scurs) after disbudding

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Daniel Babcock, Jun 27, 2008.

1. Daniel Babcock

Daniel Babcock Member

One of the Mini-Mancha doelings I purchased three weeks ago (Rapunzel is approx 4 months old) seems to be growing a horn back, and possibly both. They are just starting to appear above the hair and are no more than 1/4 - 3/8 inch above the skull. Should I disbud again, over the top of the scurs?

If I need to disbud again, do all disbudding irons work the same or are there some I should avoid?

Thanks for your help!

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

yes and the sooner the better. I am not good at advising on irons and which is best

3. Daniel Babcock

Daniel Babcock Member

Thanks Sondra!

Can anyone else reccoment an iron? Do they all tend to work the same?

4. Halo-M Nubians

Halo-M Nubians New Member

Rhinehart x50..love mine!

5. Truly

Truly New Member

6. Chaty

Chaty New Member

I have the Rhinehart x 50A and also got different tips from Hoeggers . With my Nigis its too big but with the nigi tip its good and also got the buck tip and this way I can use it for goats or calves. I have had really good luck and if they do throw a scur this will get it without the extra tip.
    Kathy

7. mill-valley

mill-valley New Member

I also use the Rhinehart X50, the goat tip for young kids and the regular end for older kids and calves.

8. Sharpgoat

Sharpgoat New Member

That Dual Dehorner would do the job.
    I use my X50 with a buck tip that I use on Boer buck kids and works good on the older diary kids with scurs.
    Fran

9. Tim Pruitt

Tim Pruitt New Member