hoof trimming bleeders

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Melissa, Feb 18, 2008.

1. Melissa

Melissa New Member

yesterday I was trimming and nicked one of the doelings a little to high and she started bleeding. know, I've trimmed lots of hooves and have had several bleed but they usually stop before I get the last hoof is done, but this one made the floor of my barn look like I had butchered somebody (concrete floor) so a little concerned, I hooked up the dehorning iron to cauterize the offending bleeder. now, I'll mention here that I have never done this, as I've said before, none have ever bled this much. as God is my witness, I'll never trim hooves again without it!!! :woohoo I stopped not only the major bleeding hoof, but also any oozing capillaries that I shaved! to any who have never used your iron to stop bleeding, you're making a big mistake! the goats didn't even act like the cauterizing hurt them very much (no more than trimming) and the hooves look so good after using it. well, I think I've gone on about this, it just amazed me so much I had to let everyone know. :biggrin Thanks for letting me share.

-Melissa

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Yep been there and done that, made me feel so bad that I had cut to have it bleeed like that. First time I did it I wasn't smart enough to use the iron. used blood stop and didn't help so finally put gauze and taped it up real good so it would stop. Then afterwards thought abt the iron.

3. Theresa

Theresa New Member

Yeah, I had my first goat mentor tell me that the iron was the best thing to stop the bleeding. I have never had to use it but that is probable because once I see a little pink I am to chicken to go farther. :blush

4. Katarina

Katarina New Member