Help1 I'm new at this

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by crittermom, Mar 25, 2008.

1. crittermom

crittermom New Member

I just got my 1st goat a week ago on Saturday. He had scours when I got him and was on replacer milk. He is only 4 wks old, and is a pygora. On Tuesday I wormed him after another goat mom said he probably had worms, and also she said it was his replacer milk giving him the runs. On Wed. he was disbudded by a local vet who has minimal experience with goats. Thursday he refused his bottle at first and I immediately called the vet. He said penicillin injections 2xs per day at 1cc each time for 5 days. He did start eating w/in a few hours. I am terrible at shots. I did it for three days. He seemed to feel better too. Much more perky and silly. At this point I have learned that I can transition him to cows milk (I'm doing that now) to help with the scours. He does have a cold though. Runny nose, some congestion and a little bit of a cough. I'm just wondering if I am doing everything that I should be for him or if there is anything else that will help the scours and cold. I weighed him yesterday because he feels heavier than before and he's 8 lbs. It's still pretty cold here (SW Michigan) so for now he's staying indoors and sleeps in a dog crate at night so he doesn't freeze with all the diarrhea at night.
    Thanks, Teresa

2. Patty13637

Patty13637 New Member

You need to continue antibiotics for at least 5 days . He probally should get bo-se . He should also be started on coccidia prevention.

Start reading goatkeeping 101 . You will find everything you need there . I think there is a new thread that is about caring for an infant straight on up.

Patty

3. stacy adams

stacy adams New Member