Help! ???

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Shykid Acres, Feb 24, 2008.

1. Shykid Acres

Shykid Acres Guest

:help

Is this doe pregnant?

The link to the picture is here. Scroll down. You'll find it above a poll on the pregnancy topic. I'm new at this. I can use some help. She'll be a first freshener. I swear I can feel the rumen rumbling, yes....but the kid/kids as well. They were very active this morning and this evening. Can you look at the picture and tell me what you all think. Is she pregnant. If she is for sure, she'll probably be due mid-late March. Thanks!

http://www.freewebs.com/shykidalpines/theshykids.htm

-Kimberly

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

she appears to look pg yes but I would like to see a vulva picture to say yes for sure.

3. tmfinley

tmfinley Member

Sondra, for the future what will the vulva look like if a doe is pregnant?

4. Shykid Acres

Shykid Acres Guest

5. Sondra

Sondra New Member

My answer is a definite yes
    ok now not that this is correct way of discribing or looking at it, and some others use smiley wrinkles which I haven't figured out yet.. But in an unbred doe the bottom tip of the vulva (lips) is curled up in a bred doe it is elongated as this one is and this you will generally see soon after they have been bred. However this girl is not ready to freshen today :)

6. Shykid Acres

Shykid Acres Guest

Hee hee. I was hoping you'd say that. I did not know that about the vulva looking like that though. Does this mean that it looks like that all throughout the pregnancy and will return to the "curled up" position after she kids? Or that she only looks like that soon after she is bred??? Cause I can already feel the kid/kids. 98% positive that is. I've only had one pregnant doe before and that was twenty years ago when I was in 4-H. Can't remember much about this particular area. I better learn quick, huh?