Help needed ASAP please

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Jen1204ca, May 25, 2010.

1. Jen1204ca

Jen1204ca New Member

Hi, I am new to goats and this is my first doe to kid. She had a single buck late Saturday afternoon. Since then her udder has been really hard. It has doubled in size since she kidded. Her teats are totally empty, flaccid and floppy. I can get a couple of drops out of each of them but then nothing else for a long time, atleast an hour.

I have been massaging her udder and it doesn't seem to be helping. I also put warm towels on it a couple of times and that also isn't doing anything. The kid has also been butting her a lot and trying to drink, but there is nothing in her. I have been bottle feeding him but leaving him with her.

I noticed at the very end of her teat where the milk comes out is a dark, dark gray, is this normal. It's a very small circle, not quite the size of this letter o.

Today, for the first time she seems to be off her feed but is still drinking and urinating. She also seems to be trembling today.

I am really worried about her and don't want to do the wrong thing for her.

2. Feral Nature

Feral Nature Active Member

What have you been feeding her? What has been her sourse of calcium?

Do you have CMPK or TUMs?

3. Feral Nature

Take her temp, it is most likely low.

4. billinohio

billinohio New Member

I do not consider myself to be an expert.........check her temperature.........it sounds like mastitis. It sounds like she needs to be on antibiotics.........and massaging the udder........it can be a long process......
    If it were me, I would be taking her to my vet's office ASAP.
    From my experience, once they go off feed, they are pretty sick, and they need to be "turned around" in short order.........or the downhill slope is very steep and slippery.