Help Me before I haul this goat to the Sale Barn

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Liberty Alpines, Dec 25, 2007.

1. Liberty Alpines

Liberty Alpines New Member

Hello Everyone,
    If anyone has some help or advice for me I would appreciate every bit of it. I have a doe that I have been battling scar tissue in her teat/mastitis for almost 3 months now. :ugh

Back at the beginning of December I gave her 3 tubes of Pirsue and 12cc of Bio-mycin over 3 days. Didn't help at all that I could tell. I also rubbed her udder with peppermint oil.

Soooo...I sent in a milk sample to LSU, they said that she had staph mastitis, they weren't sure what kind, and to treat it with pennicillin and ToDay. I've heard some questionable things about ToDay, but I had already tried Pirsue...so I decided to try ToDay. Did 6 tubes of ToDay and 6 cc of pennicillin over three days. Waited 4 days. I milked her out this morning, and nothing but ToDay came out. I think she's all the way dried up, (she hardly had any milk left at all) but probably still has mastitis. That side of her udder is hard and lumpy. What should I do now???? Kind of hard to send in a milk sample to LSU if she's basically dry...I'm thinking about just leaving her alone and seeing what happens. I really like this doe, but it's almost getting to the point that if she dies-oh well!
    She got this mastitis while I was trying to keep her teat open so it would heal. I just want to get her cured of mastitis so I can focus on beating the scar tissue once and for all, and getting her dried up for winter. By the way, she was bred yesterday too. Any help at all would be appreciated. I'm somewhat of a newbie so even basic information may be helpful. Thanks everyone, I have learned so much from this forum and appreciate all the help. :D

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

you need to do as Vicki does now and use getomyocin (sp?? and a Vet RX) and pursue
    and hope for the best next freshening.

3. stacy adams