Help identifying eggs on fecal

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Ashley, Apr 10, 2008.

1. Ashley

Ashley Active Member

Are these barberpole?

[​IMG]

And what is this?

[​IMG]

This fecal testing is neat. :D

Now if I can just get my horse to poop on demand.... Anyone have pics of horse worm eggs?

2. MiddleRiver

MiddleRiver New Member

i'm new to fecals, infact i'm getting ready to do my second one this weekend - so i'm waiting to see the answers to your questions - also wondering if anybody has any other good pics they can share ? In my first fecal i couldn't find anything ! I think i had too much fiber in there though, and also think once i find my first egg it will be easier to find others after that - at least i hope !

I would also like to know what horse and cow parasite eggs look like - as i plan to try those as well for my horses and cows.

3. Ravens Haven

Ravens Haven New Member

The top one looks like the barberpole worm egg but I think that bottom one is a liver fluke...

Autumn

4. whimmididdle

whimmididdle Guest

I have no idea if this is a link in 101......but here you go if it ain't

http://www.apacapacas.com/parasites/

Good hunting, Whim

Oh yea.........the bottom pic kinda looks like some type of pollen......but geez, it's hard to tell.

5. mill-valley

mill-valley New Member

Eggs are very distinctive...once you see one, you will recognize them. I am not an expert with large animal parasites, would have to look them up myself. My goat's fecals also have the 1st one but haven't seen the 2nd. What objective were you using on the microscope?

6. Kaye White

Kaye White Guest

Barberpole on top, Whipworm on bottom. (if the whipworm egg had been turned just a tad, you would have seen the identical end to the one pictured.)
    Geez...you took good pictures!!
    Kaye