Help Buying a LaMancha doe?

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Daniel Babcock, Aug 29, 2008.

1. Daniel Babcock

Daniel Babcock Member

As some know, I am pretty new to raising goats. I have settled on the Mini-Manchas as the breed of choice for me and my family. After speaking with lots of breeders and trying to learn as much as I can, I have determined that I would like to maintain a mix of 75% Lamancha 25% Nigerian Dwarf in my herds.

I currently have two 3rd gen 50% bucks, a 2nd gen 50% doeling (to be bred this fall) and two 75% 1st gen doelings (to be bred this fall) I am looking at acquiring a 75% buck as well as a very correct full bred LaMancha doe.

I need help :help.

I would like to know more about the attributes of a quality goat. Where could I find information on what to look for in a goat I am purchasing. I acknowledge that much of this will come from experience, however I am hoping to shorten the learning curve.

I have attached a picture of a LaMancha doe I am looking at purchasing. She is a 2nd freshener and was appraised at 84 as a yearling. The breeder suggests that 84 is very good for a yearling, I don't know enough about goats or appraising to be sure.

http://meadow-creek-farm.googlegrou...pg?hl=en&gsc=KotXjgsAAACTwIdvmk2iY7osvglzdFE8

Would some of you please follow the above link and let me know what you think about this doe? I am told she is a little hockey (sp?) but I have a buck that will fix that!

Thanks in advance for your help

2. laughter777

laughter777 New Member

She's cute, but I don't know enough to know if she is correct and I think they are ALL cute! Hopefully others will chime in soon enough!!

3. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Daniel I don't know much of anything abt confirmation so there for can not help you I have to seek Vicki /Sarah /Kaye and other to help me chose.
    For those of you that can help Daniel critique this doe please email or pm him personally with your help on the said doe.
    Thanks
    Sondra