Hello - First Post

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Karen Bailey, Dec 23, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Karen Bailey

Karen Bailey New Member

I'm Karen Bailey and I've been a lurker on this forum for almost a year. Those people who have met me (Kaye, Sharon) can attest that I usually do a lot more listening than talking, especially in a group situation. But as my children have grown up and left home, I have become more loquacious (great word!), especially on any topic concerning my beloved goats!

I've been raising Nubians for 10 years now in Central Arkansas. I keep a closed herd, so my girls don't go to shows, but I enjoy going to a goat show and seeing everyone else's goats. I breed for milk production, and because I love the milk and can't do without, I milk my does through on extended lactations with only some of them bred to kid and freshen each year.

I drink a lot of milk, but also enjoy making cheese, butter, ice cream, fudge and soap.

After thinking about it for nearly 2 years, I finally started working on a farm web site. I learned many things in the past 3 weeks. One, I had to learn about digital cameras so I could intelligently choose one that would do the job. Cheap Walmart digital cameras take fuzzy pictures, no matter what settings you try! Then I had to learn how to use that camera - take pictures, download to the computer, upload to web site, re-size...oh my! Now I'm waiting for Spring to arrive - sunny days with green grass and leafy trees, does with full udders, kids running around doing cute things - so I can take more pictures. But the bare bones are there, if you would like to know more about me and my farm. The address is:
    http://www.freewebs.com/calmgentledairygoatfarm/index.htm