Hanging UN-detatched placenta/cord

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by Bella Star, Oct 12, 2008.

1. Bella Star

Bella Star New Member

Clear my mind please , The Boer doe that had triplets this morning still has not let the placenta out as it's hanging , some came out as she is stepping on it and she still has the urge to P, as she keeps trying to P when she get's up, she acts like she may be cramping ......... What do I do ? :crazy

2. Anita Martin

Anita Martin Senior Member

I am no expert here, but last spring my vet gave me oxytocin and told me to only use it for a retained placenta. Luckily though, I never had to use it. Maybe you could research a little online if that would help in case nobody else gets on here to help you out tonight. I'm probably one of the last people you want to get advice from, but my vet did tell me that so I thought I'd share it.
    Anita

3. Bella Star

Bella Star New Member

Thanks Anita, I dont have any Oxytocin ,so I will call the vet in the morning. I did however give her a real good tummy massage and later the long piece fell off, there is still some hanging tho and I havent seen any placenta's but she could have ate them as they were born and dry when I found them this morning. I had thought about tieing that mess up as she didn't want to go in her house with kids with it dragging . :?