Feeding Dry Does

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by mill-valley, Sep 8, 2008.

1. mill-valley

mill-valley New Member

What's the best ration for dry does? These girls are not yet bred, will be in the next two months or so. Grain or no grain? This is my first year using alfalfa pellets, I had thought you had to give a little grain for the right calcium/phosphorus ratio but am seeing in other threads that dry does shouldn't get grain at all? Also does flushing (pushing weight gain) before breeding work in goats like in cattle or just get them in good condition and not worry about it?

I just put my dry does in with the milkers, for 7 does they are getting 24-30 lbs pellets and 12 lbs grain (with 6 of that being on the milkstand for only the 4 does milking) per day, plus a little grass/alfalfa hay just to nibble on. The dry does were up until last week getting 3 lb pellets and 2 lb grain/day and FC grass hay. The milkers are in perfect condition but the 3 dry does are a little on the thin side.

Also one other question...do you prefer 14% or 16% alfalfa pellets? I have been feeding the 14% as they are cheaper and less dusty than the 16%. My grain is 18% this batch but I would like to cut back to a 14 or 16%, need to talk to the feed guy about how to do that.

All are recently dewormed with Cydectin, free choice loose mineral and baking soda. They also have a little pasture but don't spend much time out there.

2. Sondra

Sondra New Member

Well here anything dry only gets 14% alfalfa pellets and grass hay no grain at all. I prefer 17% pellets but can't get them here. 18% grain is awfully high % in my opinion.

3. Theresa

Theresa New Member

My dry girls also only get alfalfa pellets and grass/hay. Now my doelings that were born this year and still growing get some medicated goat pellet, and they will continue that until they are 100 days bred then switch to milk stand grain.