Fecal Technique

Discussion in 'Dairy Goat Info' started by goatsareus, Jun 17, 2008.

1. goatsareus

goatsareus Guest

So I have just completed my fifth fecal exam, I recently purchased the kit (microscope, scale, syringe etc) a few weeks ago. I never was comfortable with a microscope in school, so this is a challange for me.

Do you really smush the nanny berries in the saline solution for a full two minutes? I have found if the resulting solution is too dark, then I can not see the grid on the Mc Masters slide.

And what is this thing that looks like a shucked ear of corn?? It is much bigger than the worm cells, maybe 10 times bigger and looks like an ear of corn with the individual kernels clearly visible.

I have found that I have mainly the Haemonchus contortus and that the Eprinex is no longer ineffective. I have been using Eprinex since at least 1995 so am switching to Cydectin Pour on.

Also, I find that I am frequently readusting the focus. Is this normal?

Thanks for any insights.

Beth

2. whimmididdle

whimmididdle Guest

No idea about he ear of corn....but it's sounds like some kind of fiber to me.

Too much stuff floating........It may be that you need to cut the amount of fecal material down just a bit. You really don't need gobs of poop to get a good reading. I think a lot of these folks measure theirs with a gram scale.......I don't have one, so I use my gun powder scales, and it measures in grains.....am not sure how to convert grains to grams, so kinda at a loss here.

The main thing is to try to repeat your procedure each time. If you float a BB sized amount of poop this time, then try to copy it the next time too.
    I was testing a whole pill out of each goat (which wasn't the same size or weight each time).....and yes, I got a good idea what I was dealing with, but like you, I had a lot of debris on the slide. I have cut my amounts back to where I'm only testing a small portion of one goat pill.