Dairy Goat Info Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just read an article on dairy goat feeding where the writer said that feeding kids to grow fast would cause them to have shorter lives.

Do you buy that? I would love to hear some personal experience or insight.

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I have no real opinion or knowledge one way or the other, but I just don't understand why so many folks are determined to make their kids grow so quicky. I can understand if they are raising for meat, but not for dairy. Unless people are really trying to make a profit and raise goats as a business, I think it is just fine to let the goats take their sweet time growing.

·
Registered
43 Posts
I wonder if, perhaps, the same people who are pushing for faster growth also push for top milk production and simply wear the poor girls out prematurely. Just like with chickens...if you keep lights on during the winter to try to make them rush through molt and continue laying instead of letting them take a break, they will wear out quicker (that's not based on anything I've read, it just seems like common sense).

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Billie- thanks for your response! That's interesting. I've raised a lot of broilers, and while they grow fast, they do not last long if you don't butcher them!

·
Registered
3,615 Posts
I get a rate of gain of 15-20lbs a month for a while and then it slows, ending up around 95-100lbs by 7-9months. My goal is not to get fast growth but to maintain health during this critical age when they are naturally growing very quickly.
I think good questions would be: What does the author of the article consider fast growth? What diet would be used for "pushing" growth?
Giving a kid access to plenty of milk and unlimited high nutrient hay and some grain (and preventing parasites along the way) will produce a strong, well-grown kid. Nothing detrimental about that.

·
Registered